Beans and Rice with Sausage

I’ve had opposition to this meal before. In the past.  I wasn’t sure how to put it all together, what seasoning to use, when to season-do you season the rice, or the beans, or wait until it’s all together to season it? Do I need to add vegetables or just leave it as is? Well, I’ve made this so many times and it always manages to turn out right so I’ll tell you what I did last night. This can be varied quite a bit so keep it in mind.

The most important thing is the base of the meal. The beans. The rice. The meat. You don’t absolutely have to add meat as this meal really has a lot of protein on its own, so feel free to skip it if you want. But it’s more filling and dare I say more flavorful if you add sausage to it.

My camera charger thingy is lost so no pics. Sorry people. You will just have to use your imagination on this one. But trust me, it’s good!

Here’s what you need

1/2 pd. dry beans, soaked and ready to go- Black or pinto are my favorites (you can use canned but I try to avoid it when I can because of the BPA in them)

Quick tip-go ahead and soak the entire 1 pound package if that’s how you bought it and freeze the rest for another quickie bean meal at another date.

1/2 to 1 pd. Sausage. Any will do really. You could even do ground beef but I prefer the flavor of sausage. That and my kid LOVE it. I used mild Italian last time.  Sage sausage is my all time fav. though. Especially free ranged and local. Good stuff.

1 yellow onion

A vegetable of choice I used Kale this time but corn is an all time favorite

3-4 cloves garlic

Seasonings to taste Sea Salt, pepper, Adobo, garlic and onion powder

1-1/2 cup dry brown rice (brown jasmine rice is good as well)

4-5 hard boiled eggs

Sour Cream, cilantro, shredded cheddar, and fresh lime for serving (optional)

UPDATE: Optional Soaking Step- Soak the rice in about 1 cup filtered water and a couple of tbls. of an acid medium. The last time I made this I used apple cider vinegar. Allow to soak for at least 7 hours to break down the phytic acid in the rice and make it more digestible. This step is not necessary if you use white rice. After soaking proceed with remainder of recipe-but remember to only add the remainder of the liquid called for the particular type of rice that you are making so you don’t end up with too much liquid in the end. Or you can empty the soaking water and add fresh. You will find that it also takes a little less time for it to cook, also yielding a slightly lighter texture.

So first you want to get the brown rice cooking as it will take about 45 mins. (un-soaked) I usually like to cook it in homemade chicken broth but I was all out this time so I just used filtered water, some salt, and seasonings

Next, saute up your sausage and set it aside. In the same pan, reserve some of the grease but just a tad and saute up the onions for about 5 mins. Then add the beans and a little water if they are still slightly hard-ish from just the soaking. Let the water absorb and season to your taste. Sometimes I will also add cumin but not this time.

After that has had time to cook some-about 10 mins or so, go ahead and add the kale and the sausage back into the pan and stir it around some to allow it to absorb the flavor.

If the eggs aren’t pealed yet, then go ahead and do that while the rice is finishing. (tip-make sure they are cold as the shell comes off easier)

Once everything is done, assemble it a bowl and add the egg and optional toppings to the side as a garnish and serve! The combination with the egg might sound strange but it’s really good! Plus it add extra protein to the meal.

Serves 6

Leave a Reply

