Make in Your Sleep Shredded Beef

I’m going to see how short I can make this post. It will probably take me longer to type it then it did to make it. This is one of those amazingly good crowd pleasing, kid loving, husband approved cheap meals that should be in your dinner que. I got this idea from Kelly the Kitchen Kop (I think) and it’s so simple it’s not something I would normally think of doing as I can sometimes over complicate things.

What you need:

1 3ish lbs beef roast-favorites are chuck and sirloin. (preferably grass fed and frozen is fine)

sea salt and pepper

1 large onion peeled and chopped

4-5 cloves garlic chopped or pressed

filtered water

What you do:

So, you just turn your crock pot on high and toss the frozen roast in and almost cover it with water. Add everything else and walk away. Come back in about 4-5 hrs or when the meat is fork tender and shred it using to forks, removing any fat. Place the meat back in (optional, can skip if you’re in a hurry) and put the crock pot on low and let the juices absorb and make your meat even more tender.Let it cook for about another 1-2 hrs.

When you are ready to serve it, just plate it on some whole grain buns and add BBQ sauce and cheese. (my kids topped it with ketchup) I served it with raw broccoli and ranch dressing. SO good and easy!

This recipe was shared over at Pennywise Platter Thursday with The Nourishing Gourmet and Monday Mania 5/9 at The Healthy Home Economist

4 responses to “Make in Your Sleep Shredded Beef

  • Lisa G.

    Sounds delicious…now I really want to make it but tomorrow is no-meat Friday!! Did you put it in frozen or thaw it first? Maybe I’ll shoot for Saturday??

    • jenniepaige

      I just dropped it in completely frozen. You could also do it on Friday night and have it ready for lunch. We had plenty of leftovers too. I used a sirloin roast this time from Windmill Meadows Farm. It’s ridiculous how easy and good it is! I made whole grain buns to go with it which just made it out of this world. I will post that recipe too. They are so good too!

  • Janine

    I think I’m going to try this today. Only the beef I have is stewing beef chunks. Do you think it would work okay? Sounds yummy!

    • jenniepaige

      Oh it would work just fine. It will just take less time to cook, so check it sooner and it most likely won’t need to be put on high depending on how fast you need it to be done.

Leave a Reply

